Joy L. Hawkins, MD – Biosketch

Dr. Hawkins completed her Anesthesiology residency and fellowship training in Obstetric Anesthesia and Critical Care while in Houston, and was on the faculty at Baylor College of Medicine from 1985-1992. She has been a member of the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Colorado, School of Medicine since 1992, where she is Professor of Anesthesiology and served as Director of Obstetric Anesthesia from 1992-2024. In 2017 she stepped down as Vice-Chair of Education and Residency Program Director, a position she held for 25 years. Other national involvement includes:

American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA):

- Annual Meeting Chair for 2019 in Orlando, FL
- Chairman, Task Force on Practice Guidelines for Obstetric Anesthesia
- Anesthesia Foundation Board Member
- · HOD Delegate from Colorado

Colorado Society of Anesthesiologists:

- President, 2017-2019
- Annual Meeting Program Committee, 2019-present

Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology (SOAP):

- Past President and Board of Directors member
- Fred Hehre Lecturer 2009 ("Meant to honor someone for his/her substantial contribution to the subspecialty")
- Distinguished Service Award 2016 ("Meant to honor someone for his/her substantial contribution to the society")

Colorado Maternal Mortality Review Committee (MMRC):

- Member, 1993-present
- Founding member, MMRC Research Committee

American Board of Anesthesiologists (ABA):

- Oral Board examiner 1991-2022
- Question writer for the Advanced (Oral) examination
- Member, New Examiner Selection Task Force

Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER):

- Former Chairman, Board of Directors, 2015-2017
- Member, Board of Directors, 2005-2017

Association of Anesthesiology Core Program Directors (AACPD):

- President 2013-15 and Past-President, 2015-2019
- Former member, Society of Academic Anesthesiology Associations (SAAA)
 Council

International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS):

Former member, Board of Trustees